You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 19, 2009.

I decided to make a BBQ pulled chicken sandwich for dinner tonight! 🙂

I bought one of those rotisserie chickens from the market the other day figuring that I could pull the meat and use it for dinner the next few days.  So I portioned it into four servings and froze the others.  I mixed in some spicey chipotle BBQ sauce with my favorite milder smokey BBQ sauce and some mayo to cut the heat down.  Because the chicken had been cold when I pulled it, I popped the mixture in the microwave to heat it up and then mixed it all together.  I got a wonderful farmer’s loaf from Whole Foods the other day so went with an open-faced sandwich and topped it with some shredded mozzerella before putting it in the toaster oven.  Very tasty!

The only thing I’m questioning at this point is why I bought a pre-cooked chicken?!?… it didn’t really save much time since it took forever to pull… but that could be partly due to my germophobia and need to get every bloody, veiny, fatty bit out.  Still, it was overcooked, greasy, and lacked flavor.  I don’t think I’ll do it again.

-Kate

Blog Stats

  • 1,648 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031