You are currently browsing the daily archive for January 11, 2009.

Spoonbread Pizza 1

I’m not sure what possessed me, but tonight I decided to try and make a polenta pizza dough.  Now bear in mind that since I was doing Nutrisystem its been a while since I’ve thoroughly reviewed my fridge and tonight found it quite lacking.  Several things I intended to put on the pizza had to be scrapped if their expiration date was any warning of their viability… I’m not sure what the greenage that ended up on the pizza was because it came in my Fresh Picks grab-bag 😛 and I had thought it was spinach until I saw the little spidery pinkish stalks it clung to.

I underestimated the stubbornness of the polenta.  To make the “crust” I ended up breaking it down and heating it in a pot with water, olive oil, milk, margarine, salt, pepper, garlic powder and other seasonings.  When it became mushy I added in some asiago cheese and some flour.  I then realized that this would never be a dough since I hadn’t added any eggs or anything that would hold it together.  So I decided to make it a “spoonbread” pizza!  I spooned the resultant mixture into a greased pan and covered it with asiago and browned the cheese in the oven.  I figured that every pizza needs a hard crust of some kind, so this one would be cheese!  When this came out it looked insanely delicious.  I kind of wish I had just stopped here…

P

Cheesy Spoonbread 😛

After that cooled I added BBQ sauce, the freaky greens greens, and mozzerella.  Now I know y’all are thinking this isn’t very healthy.  I should have added some sort of chicken or turkey or something!  In fact, tomatoes or artichokes on this pizza would be amaaazing… but alas, my cupboards are bare 😦 *sniffle*

img_3096

Finished Product!

If I did this recipe again, I would like to get a better brown crust on both sides of the polenta.

Blog Stats

  • 1,648 hits
January 2009
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031