Marshmallow bunny intestines… Robitussin flavored… aka: home-made peeps gone terribly terribly wrong!

bunnyintestines

Apparently I inadvertantly stumbled upon the flavor combination for Robitussin cough syrup! I wanted to make marshmallow peeps for Easter and had decided to make them cherry-almond flavored. Who knew that when you add a little triple sec to amaretto and grenadine it tastes exactly like cough syrup?!? I figured that if I whipped enough air into them it might cut down the taste, but I think between that and adding a little extra gelatin to compensate for the excess liquid I created a mixture that was more gummy than marshmallow. Trying to get it off the baking sheet was frustrating and everything ended up all pulled out of shape…

The result?

Sparkly pink marshmallow bunny intestines (as pictured above)… and yes, they do sparkle! I mixed in some pearlescent cake decorating dust to help color it, which worked really really well actually. I figure that is because it includes corn starch so you already know it has the right consistency to stick.  Sooo yeah I don’t really have the time to try again right now, but wanted to share my squishy bunny guts with you all 🙂 You’re welcome!

-Kate