You are currently browsing the daily archive for August 1, 2008.

Because I just can’t leave a good recipe well enough alone, I adapted the famed recipe for strawberry marshmallows found on eGullet created by Nightscotman as relayed here by Brownie Points since the link to the original recipe no longer worked.

Strawberry Marshmallow Recipe:

  • 1/2 cup strawberry puree [Step 1]
  • 1/2 cup water and a dash of orange extract
  • 4 envelopes gelatin
  • 3/4 cup liquid mixture [Step 2]
  • 1 1/3 cup corn syrup [Step 3]
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/3 tsp salt

Prep: Line a 1 inched rimmed baking sheet with aluminum foil and spray liberally with your PAM of choice!

Step 1: I didn’t have fresh strawberries so I made it from frozen by microwaving until thawed and then used the hand mixer to ‘puree’ them. Because they were frozen I allowed for the excess water since that’s where a lot of the flavor runs off to. Also, frozen strawberries tend to be more tart than fresh so it would be a good idea to add a little sugar, but in this case since there was so much sugar already involved in the recipe I restrained myself! 🙂

Add 1/2 cup of water and a dash of orange extract to the puree and “sprinkle the gelatin over this mixture to soften (aka bloom)”

… Alright, so I’m going to admit that I had no idea what that last line was supposed to mean or what to expect “blooming” or “softening” to look like. Also, it quickly became apparent that simply “sprinkling” the gelatin wasn’t going to be enough. It needed to be stirred in a bit until it was all wet at which point it sort of soaked up all of the liquid in the bowl.

Read the rest of this entry »

Blog Stats

  • 1,648 hits
August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031